US’ DHS Framework for Security

From the DHS’ CTTV (Counter Terrorism and Targeted Violence) work on integrating modern technology in a forward-looking way, there is a comprehensive framework for safety that’s outlined in rough detail.

There are four goals that line up against six specific “lines of effort”:

Core capabilities manifest as five types of activities that follow a generally linear chronology:

  • Prevention
  • Protection
  • Mitigation
  • Response
  • Recovery

In reality these all overlap in phases with different time constants of effectiveness and impact. The four goals map to the five different phased activities in this chart: